November…A reminder to be thankful…even for Lupus

Well, it’s been a little more than a month and a half since I first received my diagnosis of SLE Lupus. With the way that I had been feeling physically prior to my diagnosis and any kind of treatment, I never would have thought that I could feel as good as I do now. Granted, I am still taking Prednisone mixed with Hydroxychloroquine so it could be that it is a temporary relief, but time will tell. I am hoping that my Hydroxychloroquine will have kicked in well before I am completely off the Prednisone. All I can say is that what ever it is, it is working right now. I can walk with no pain, I can grasp and hold things with no pain. What a nice way to be. Definitely something to be thankful for this month of November when we are remembering all of our blessings.

I had no idea that I had Lupus last September, all I knew was that I felt physically terrible and the conditions where I was working made me feel even worse day by day. I am thankful for Lupus because I truly believe that my Lupus pain is what gave me the push that I needed to quit the job that I was at and reach out to one of my previous employers to see if they knew of any openings anywhere.  Within about an hour, my life direction changed. Instant relief, knowing that I would be going back to work for a wonderful company with great “Leaders” and not just “Bosses”. This is a company that inspires it’s employees, treats them more like family members, and has a general air of happiness surrounding it. It is a company with longevity, one that weathered through the down turn in the economy. It is a very, very busy place, that has the normal stresses at times as any business does but when you hear the owners laughing, encouraging, genuinely caring for each and every one of us, you know you are in just the right place. I am so thankful to once again be part of this work family. I feel it was a God thing, He knew what I needed and gave me the impulse to reach out. Thank you Lord!

About Moqqi

I was born in the Midwest but I have actually lived more of my life on the West Coast. I am looking forward to that day when I once again am living in the Midwest. Hopefully that will mean that I am retired and getting to live life at a bit of a slower pace! I've been married to the same guy for 36 years! We met when he was working for a semi-pro hockey team and I was selling tickets to the games. He also played hockey at an amateur and college level and I think I fell instantly in love when we went ice skating together and he saved me from crashing when someone behind me fell (I was skating backwards, he was skating forward, so we were facing each other.) and he reached out with his big, strong arms and grabbed both of my upper arms and just stopped me dead in my tracks to make sure I didn't fall over the person. My Hercules! I have two children, a son and a daughter. My son is an Registered Nurse and works in an ICU. He is married to a wonderful girl that I couldn't have hand picked better. They have produced the absolute, most cute and adorable Grandchildren that anyone could ask for! My daughter is now a Fifth Grade teacher. She has a joy and passion for teaching and loving her students that is not seen in many teachers these days. She truly found her calling. I have this blog because I thought it would be nice to have a place that I could share what is going on in our lives and I also just love to tell stories. I'm not a writer per se, but I do love a good story. Even if it's just a short little quip!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment