“Oklahoma Standard”

On Wednesday, April 19, 1995 in the morning, I was living in Bella Vista, Arkansas.  I had already taken Brian and Melissa to school and was back home having coffee when my phone rang.   It was my mom, and the first words out of her mouth after I answered the phone were, “I just want to let you know, when you see the news, your sister is OK.”  My heart instantly started racing.  Now mind you, I was in the next state, about 250 miles away.  I wondered, why would my mom think that when I watched the news in Arkansas I might be concerned for my sister?  As far as I knew, there wasn’t any bad weather expected.  The only thing that came to mind was that a multi-car accident must have happened on I-40.  That is when my mom explained to me that at 9:02 a.m. the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City had been bombed.  But, my sister didn’t work in or near that building.  She worked  a few miles away.  The bombing was so strong, that it blew her office doors open and they didn’t even face downtown.  That is how strong the blast was.

Today marks the 20th anniversary of that terrible day.  But it also hi lights the strength, compassion and determination of the people of the state of Oklahoma where I was born and where my heart lies.  this strength, compassion and determination has been coined, “Oklahoma Standard”.  It is a standard by which the Oklahoma people live, love and thrive.  It is the never ending resilience of a community of people who time and time again pick themselves up and continue on, whether it is after this terrible domestic terrorist event remembered today, or after the unfathomable destruction of an F5 tornado.

I would hope that I never receive another phone call like that.  But if I do, I have the comfort to know that if it is regarding something in Oklahoma, I can count on the “Oklahoma Standard”.

About Moqqi

I was born in the Midwest but I have actually lived more of my life on the West Coast. I am looking forward to that day when I once again am living in the Midwest. Hopefully that will mean that I am retired and getting to live life at a bit of a slower pace! I've been married to the same guy for 36 years! We met when he was working for a semi-pro hockey team and I was selling tickets to the games. He also played hockey at an amateur and college level and I think I fell instantly in love when we went ice skating together and he saved me from crashing when someone behind me fell (I was skating backwards, he was skating forward, so we were facing each other.) and he reached out with his big, strong arms and grabbed both of my upper arms and just stopped me dead in my tracks to make sure I didn't fall over the person. My Hercules! I have two children, a son and a daughter. My son is an Registered Nurse and works in an ICU. He is married to a wonderful girl that I couldn't have hand picked better. They have produced the absolute, most cute and adorable Grandchildren that anyone could ask for! My daughter is now a Fifth Grade teacher. She has a joy and passion for teaching and loving her students that is not seen in many teachers these days. She truly found her calling. I have this blog because I thought it would be nice to have a place that I could share what is going on in our lives and I also just love to tell stories. I'm not a writer per se, but I do love a good story. Even if it's just a short little quip!
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

