A Few Things On My Mind…

So I feel like sharing a bit. First of all, I think there are “crazies” on both sides of the fence, however I do think that maybe we are on our way to going to Hell in a handbasket…
I love America and I am proud to be an American. I think that…no…I know that there are those who live in other countries that give up everything they have in their homeland to come to America to try and live the rest of their lives here. I personally know a family, both were medical doctors, in the land of their birth, but gave it all up to come here. No matter what people may say, I know that America is where a lot of foreigners want to be. And, they are willing to do it legally. My friends actually had to win a lottery spot in their country to get their family here, and they did it all above board, legally. Oh…and they learned English…didn’t expect us to have to communicate in their native tongue.
So what is so bad about being rich? If you are smart enough, work hard enough, or are savvy enough to make it big, then good for you. I don’t think that the rich should be taxed any differently than anyone else. In fact I think a flat tax rate across the board would work for me. Then it would all be relative. If “the rich” are using loopholes to avoid paying taxes, then the loopholes need to be closed, taxes don’t need to be raised.
I also resent the stereotypical description that I keep hearing that Conservative Republicans are just old, white, rich people, who are not in touch with today’s world and they need to just get up with the times. I am a Republican and I know I am conservative. I know loads of Republicans, none of whom fit that description.
I think every state should pass the law that Oklahoma passed in May requiring a drug screen for illegal drug use when someone applies for state assistance, if they fail, no assistance.
I am sick to death that because I choose to be a Christian and believe in the words of the Bible, that I am supposed to be some closed-minded person, out of touch with the world today. In my opinion, the Bible is my guide-book and if something in the world changes, and it becomes the norm, it doesn’t make it any more right or wrong than it used to be.
I am sad that people have become so desensitized to really horrible things. Between movies, newscasts, books, video games, etc., things that used to cause someone to feel uncomfortable because it should, are hardly noticed anymore.
It makes me sick that men and women, in fact boys and girls today use such foul language in their everyday speech. It is bad enough in certain extreme situations, but to be out with my grandchildren and have people throwing F-bombs around with no regard, really says what this new world has come to. When I was reading what the public was writing on the tweets regarding the candidates running, so much of it was just cursing. I was always told that if you cursed, it was because you weren’t intelligent enough to get your message across.
Oh, I have more to say, and I will as my thoughts are gathered or as something strikes me…
About Moqqi

I was born in the Midwest but I have actually lived more of my life on the West Coast. I am looking forward to that day when I once again am living in the Midwest. Hopefully that will mean that I am retired and getting to live life at a bit of a slower pace! I've been married to the same guy for 36 years! We met when he was working for a semi-pro hockey team and I was selling tickets to the games. He also played hockey at an amateur and college level and I think I fell instantly in love when we went ice skating together and he saved me from crashing when someone behind me fell (I was skating backwards, he was skating forward, so we were facing each other.) and he reached out with his big, strong arms and grabbed both of my upper arms and just stopped me dead in my tracks to make sure I didn't fall over the person. My Hercules! I have two children, a son and a daughter. My son is an Registered Nurse and works in an ICU. He is married to a wonderful girl that I couldn't have hand picked better. They have produced the absolute, most cute and adorable Grandchildren that anyone could ask for! My daughter is now a Fifth Grade teacher. She has a joy and passion for teaching and loving her students that is not seen in many teachers these days. She truly found her calling. I have this blog because I thought it would be nice to have a place that I could share what is going on in our lives and I also just love to tell stories. I'm not a writer per se, but I do love a good story. Even if it's just a short little quip!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

