My recent Moreno Valley experience…

I’ve always heard that Moreno Valley was a rough area to live in. My only real experience up until last night was visiting family that live on the beautiful lake in Moreno Valley. Yes, I would pass by the “Day Worker” area on my way up Pigeon Pass and have many workers try to hail me as I drove by in hopes of a day job. Sadly to say, I don’t even have a day job…other than being a housewife at the moment. Yes, I too have been affected by the slow down in the construction industry in California.

Well…last night I drove to Moreno Valley so I could baby-sit my Grandson while his mom and dad, and his other Grandparents went to a special evening of celebration with ROTC students. After a two-hour drive from my friend’s house in Coto de Caza and battling the woes of the 91 freeway on a Friday night in the big town, I had finally exited the freeway at Pigeon Pass. I kept seeing signs that were telling me that the 60 East was congested, take an alternate route but I wasn’t seeing the congestion that they were talking about. So when I hit the red light when I got off the freeway I thought this would be a good time to check my GPS traffic conditions on my I-Phone.

While I was looking down at my I-Phone little did I know the drama that was unfolding around me. (Note to self…get peripheral vision checked!) I’m not sure what caused me to look up, but I realized that the car that was in front hazard lights had been turned on and the lady that I thought was the driver of the car, was out of her car and facing me and saying something. Well, I had my CD playing and so I had no clue what she was saying, I was just trying to figure out how the heck I was going to get around her car once the light turned green as there were so many cars waiting at the red light! About the time that I realized that she was actually looking past me I started hearing voices. Angry voices. Angry, women’s voices. I turned and looked behind me. That’s when I saw them. One lady standing outside the driver side door of the vehicle that was in the next lane, one car back. She and the lady that was still in her vehicle were screaming and yelling and gesturing at each other. I wouldn’t be surprised if the gestures were some kind of gang signs, but I definitely knew what one of the gestures was, and it wasn’t  a “Hi, how ya doin?” gesture. Bang! The women standing in the lane pounded on the driver’s door with both hands while she screamed at the one in her car. The lady that was in front of me was yelling for the screaming lady to come back to the car in front of me, but there was no talking to her. finally she started to return to her car all the while screaming and gesturing at the woman behind me. For every two steps forward she’d take another step back towards the car behind me. It was taking her a while to get back to her car.

At the point where one lady yelled to the other something about having a “Magnum”…I started getting a bit concerned that I was going to be the innocent bystander being caught in the crossfire.

I guess a green light was all she needed. The screaming woman got back in her car and drove off. I noticed that she got right back on the freeway and went the other direction.

So, hmm! (as my Grandson would say.) Friday night in Moreno Valley is probably not such a good night to be driving around…at least on freeway exits!

About Moqqi

I was born in the Midwest but I have actually lived more of my life on the West Coast. I am looking forward to that day when I once again am living in the Midwest. Hopefully that will mean that I am retired and getting to live life at a bit of a slower pace! I've been married to the same guy for 36 years! We met when he was working for a semi-pro hockey team and I was selling tickets to the games. He also played hockey at an amateur and college level and I think I fell instantly in love when we went ice skating together and he saved me from crashing when someone behind me fell (I was skating backwards, he was skating forward, so we were facing each other.) and he reached out with his big, strong arms and grabbed both of my upper arms and just stopped me dead in my tracks to make sure I didn't fall over the person. My Hercules! I have two children, a son and a daughter. My son is an Registered Nurse and works in an ICU. He is married to a wonderful girl that I couldn't have hand picked better. They have produced the absolute, most cute and adorable Grandchildren that anyone could ask for! My daughter is now a Fifth Grade teacher. She has a joy and passion for teaching and loving her students that is not seen in many teachers these days. She truly found her calling. I have this blog because I thought it would be nice to have a place that I could share what is going on in our lives and I also just love to tell stories. I'm not a writer per se, but I do love a good story. Even if it's just a short little quip!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My recent Moreno Valley experience…

  1. Mary Anne says:

    Murphy! My gosh- what an adventure driving to Moreno Valley!

    Hope all of that was worth it when you got to Caila’s house!

    We miss you- how are you?

Leave a Reply

