Race for the Cure 2009-OC Komen @ Newport Beach, CA

This year marked my 19 1/2 years as a breast cancer survivor while walking in the 2009 OC Komen Race for the Cure in Newport Beach. The previous 5 years I walked with various family and friends who came to support this cause. But, not until this year was my son and his family able to walk with us as they have always lived out of the state or been out of the country during the walk. (We walk…don’t race…as we are usually pushing at least one or two strollers.)
The day started out actually the night before when Brian, Caila and Hudson arrived at our house to spend the night. I just love it when they come and visit. I’m so happy that Hudson knows that Grandma Murphy’s house is his house too, with his own crib and special toys…the Little Tykes Rescue Fire Co. car being among his favorites. Of course he always makes sure to gather up all of his Hot Wheels and Match Box cars and trucks to ride along with him while he is saving the day.
Sunday morning we got up before the sun came up as we live about an hour and fifteen minutes south of Newport Beach in Carlsbad. Early. Kevin and I got ready and headed to Melissa’s house to pick her up and also meet my friend Dee and her son’s so that we could caravan. Brian, Caila and Hudson left a few minutes later to drive directly to the race site as they still needed to register and pick up their racing shirts.
Once at the race site we headed over to the Survivors Hospitality Pavillion. There they have all sorts of goodies to eat prior to the race…fruit, muffins, cookies, yogurt, donuts, coffee, juices, water…all I can say is YUM and thank you to the sponsors that donate all of this stuff.
Kevin, me, Dee, Daniel, Matthew, Hudson, Brian, Caila and Melissa

Kevin, me, Dee, Daniel, Matthew, Hudson, Brian, Caila and Melissa

Once we were done eating then it was time for me to line up for the “Survivors Parade”. This is where all the ladies in pink that are breast cancer survivors are each given a pink rose, donated by Proflowers.com and they walk to the area of the “Survivor Tribute” to the cheers of all of our family and friends that are there in support. Every year I wind up meeting someone new as I wait in line.
7831_164634453626_670823626_3600819_6103731_n
It’s quite moving when you see just how many people breast cancer affects, whether it is as a patient or a caregiver.
The beginning of the Survivor Parade

The beginning of the Survivor Parade

All of the survivors then sit on the steps of a nearby building to listen to the many different stories of other survivors or their family members.
Survivor Tribute

Survivor Tribute

After the tribute it’s time for the race to begin.
And we're off!

And we're off!Hudson walked over a mile or so before he started riding on Daddy's shoulders. It was amazing. He was having such a great time!Caila, Brian and Hudson

Here are a few of the photos that Melissa and I took along the way.
Three Generations of Murphy Men

Three Generations of Murphy Men

Caila, Brian and Hudson

Caila, Brian and Hudson

Kevin and I pushing strollers.

Kevin and I pushing strollers.

Dee and Caila pushing strollers.

Dee and Caila pushing strollers.

Melissa and the rest of us in the background.

Melissa and the rest of us in the background.

Caila and Melissa

Caila and Melissa

At the Finish Line

At the Finish Line

Finishing the 2009 OC Komen Race for the Cure 5K

Finishing the 2009 OC Komen Race for the Cure 5K

About Moqqi

I was born in the Midwest but I have actually lived more of my life on the West Coast. I am looking forward to that day when I once again am living in the Midwest. Hopefully that will mean that I am retired and getting to live life at a bit of a slower pace! I've been married to the same guy for 36 years! We met when he was working for a semi-pro hockey team and I was selling tickets to the games. He also played hockey at an amateur and college level and I think I fell instantly in love when we went ice skating together and he saved me from crashing when someone behind me fell (I was skating backwards, he was skating forward, so we were facing each other.) and he reached out with his big, strong arms and grabbed both of my upper arms and just stopped me dead in my tracks to make sure I didn't fall over the person. My Hercules! I have two children, a son and a daughter. My son is an Registered Nurse and works in an ICU. He is married to a wonderful girl that I couldn't have hand picked better. They have produced the absolute, most cute and adorable Grandchildren that anyone could ask for! My daughter is now a Fifth Grade teacher. She has a joy and passion for teaching and loving her students that is not seen in many teachers these days. She truly found her calling. I have this blog because I thought it would be nice to have a place that I could share what is going on in our lives and I also just love to tell stories. I'm not a writer per se, but I do love a good story. Even if it's just a short little quip!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

