San Diego Scottish Highland Games & Gathering of the Clans

Highland Way - Celtic Band

Highland Way - Celtic Band

Kevin and I decided that it would be fun to attend the Scottish Highland Games & Gathering of the Clans this year in Vista. I’ve seen it advertised for the last couple of years and always thought it would be a neat thing to do. I wasn’t wrong.

We drove to Vista High School and parked our car there and caught one of the shuttle busses over to Brengle Terrace Park in Vista.  Once we arrived we got in line to purchase our entry tickets. While waiting in line we were treated to all sorts of Tartan Kilts on display as each clan was wearing their own special plaid. It was time to decide what to do first. We decided to walk around all of the vendor booths and see what they were selling. If you’ve ever read a romance novel that takes place in Scotland then that would pretty much be a description of what was being sold there. Everything from Kilts to Haggis. (Haggis is a food product that didn’t really look that appealing to me.)

After walking around we decided to go and listen to some of the Celtic music. A band named Highland Way was playing. I loved them! So upbeat! Great music!

Of course we were hungry so we made a trip to the food area. I had a smoked turkey leg with mashed potatoes and gravy and green peas. Kevin had a corned beef sandwich. They also had meat pies, haggis, fish & chips, bangers, rubharb pie, lemonade and of course good stout ale. (Which we passed on.)

Pipers Piping

Pipers Piping

Once our hunger was satisfied we decided to go and watch the Pipers and Drumming contests. I just love bagpipes!!! They have the most awesome and content sound to them. There were many, many groups that would march in playing, perform and then march out playing.

 

 

Sheep Dog Trials

Sheep Dog Trials

It was on to the Sheep Dog Trials. This was really fun to watch. It’s the first time that I’ve ever seen this in person and boy do those dogs get a workout. Some of the sheep are down right evil! What great dogs though…it was hot and even though they had been running around forever, they never stopped until their owners told them (by whistle blowing) that they could stop.

Caber Tossing

Caber Tossing

 

Next we moved over to the Caber Toss. This is one of the most traditional contests dating back to the 16th century. You bascially have to pick up a huge pole (looks like a telephone pole) and balance it then run forward and flip it out of your hands hard enough to make it toss end over end. The poles are usually 14-20 feet long and the the weight can  be anywhere from 50-130 pounds. This contest will (as Kevin says) “Make your babies be born naked”!!!!

Tossing the Caber

Tossing the Caber

After that we watched a Tug-o-War between the Marine Corps Officer Selection San Diego and the Scottish Highland Heavy Athletics. The Marines won! Of course they had about 13 of them to about 6 of the Heavy’s!!!!

All in all it was a really fun day, something new for Kevin and I…I totally want to get him a Kilt! We found out that we have a plaid from the county in Ireland that his ancestors hail from (County Clare) of course it’s insanely expensive and would cost almost $600 to have a kilt made for him. Then there is the hose (stockings), the flashes (garters), the Brogues (shoes), the Sporan (kind of a fanny pack hanging man purse), the kilt pin, the Sgian Dubh (knife for inside the stocking to protect me!). And of course I’d want him to have it all…so…maybe in the future!?!

About Moqqi

I was born in the Midwest but I have actually lived more of my life on the West Coast. I am looking forward to that day when I once again am living in the Midwest. Hopefully that will mean that I am retired and getting to live life at a bit of a slower pace! I've been married to the same guy for 36 years! We met when he was working for a semi-pro hockey team and I was selling tickets to the games. He also played hockey at an amateur and college level and I think I fell instantly in love when we went ice skating together and he saved me from crashing when someone behind me fell (I was skating backwards, he was skating forward, so we were facing each other.) and he reached out with his big, strong arms and grabbed both of my upper arms and just stopped me dead in my tracks to make sure I didn't fall over the person. My Hercules! I have two children, a son and a daughter. My son is an Registered Nurse and works in an ICU. He is married to a wonderful girl that I couldn't have hand picked better. They have produced the absolute, most cute and adorable Grandchildren that anyone could ask for! My daughter is now a Fifth Grade teacher. She has a joy and passion for teaching and loving her students that is not seen in many teachers these days. She truly found her calling. I have this blog because I thought it would be nice to have a place that I could share what is going on in our lives and I also just love to tell stories. I'm not a writer per se, but I do love a good story. Even if it's just a short little quip!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to San Diego Scottish Highland Games & Gathering of the Clans

  1. Caila says:

    Teri-Mom, this is so cool! I’m glad you told us all about it. I had no idea this existed! Maybe next year we will go with you guys. 🙂
    Love you!
    Caila

  2. cinneygay says:

    Oh my gosh…it has Highland Romance written all over it! I wish I could have tagged along with you guys. It looks and sounds like you had a blast. And though we all love a big burly man in a kilt…I think I might have enjoyed one of those turkey drumsticks almost as much. YUM!! Talk about INSPIRATION!…give me ten minutes in that atmosphere and I guarantee you, I can come up with a book. How’s this for a beginning?… It was insanely hot as Maggy O’Malley walked through the crowd nibbling on an enormous turkey drumstick. What she wouldn’t give for one of those tall frothy ice cold mugs of beer everyone else seemed to be drinking. But she never touched the stuff. No…she would settle for lemonade. Now if she could only just find a vendor that sold it! There were 3 beer vendors to every one soft drink vendor. Seriously! Ah! Luck of the Irish! Her next turn presented what she was looking for. Only before she could take another step, she found herself shoved forward from behind, knowing she was going to fall flat on her face…and lose her drumstick in the dirt and grass! Dang it! These rude, pushy people! All she saw was her thick juicy drumstick flying through the air along with a pair of tartan plaid covered thick, admittedly attractive calves and thighs and…oh good Lord! That answers that question! They really don’t wear anything under them! HAHHAA!! LOL Have fun w/ that one, surur! Love ya!!

Leave a Reply

