Oprah’s After the Academy Awards Party Show

us-at-the-oprah-show
Caila and I had so much fun at the Oprah’s Oscar Show!

We made really good time getting up to the Hollywood Bowl to park. We were at Starbuck’s at 5 a.m. right by the Laguna Hills Mall and at 6:06 a.m. we were parked at the Hollywood Bowl. I’m so glad we got there early! We walked over to the check-in line and it was so nice and organized. Everyone was very friendly and could tell that all were excited to see the show. You could hear people speculating about who would be guests.

We were on the third bus that drove over to the Kodak Theater and once there we were directed into the lobby area of the theater to wait until they were ready for us in the auditorium. We waited for a while in the lobby but that was a show all in itself! Watching all the different kinds of people and outfits that were there was quite interesting. There was the girl that came in and had long, dark hair, her blouse hanging off one shoulder and wearing an oversized Fedora type hat, standing against the stair rail. She kept dipping her head kind of down and looking up real slow from under her Fedora……I think she was trying to be “discovered” or something or else she had a bad neck!

The UCLA Dance team showed up and taught everyone waiting in the lobby a version of the Jai Ho dance. Caila was much better at it than I was. Hahahahaha! I seriously wonder sometimes where Melissa got her talent to do cheer dances!

Then we were allowed to go into the auditorium. It was gorgeous! Television did not do it justice. It was brilliance and sparkle all in shades of teal and silver. Beautiful. Your stomach got all tingly just seeing it and anticipating the excitement to come. Caila and I found great seats about 2/3 the way up on the floor section. I don’t think there is a bad seat in the house though.

The audience coordinators were great. Being on the aisle we could hear what people would say as they came in and could see how the coordinators handled some of the more difficult people. I was very impressed as they always had a smile no matter how snippy some of the people could be. (Everyone thinks they should be front row and center!)

For our entertainment while seating continued they introduced David Foster and he had Cherice come on stage and sing a couple of songs, one of which they said was still in the works and would be on her new album. Wow, what a voice for such a little thing! Amazing. I remember seeing her on the Oprah show and my eyes watered even again!

After that the main audience coordinator (I am so bad with remembering names!) spoke with and entertained the audience. She had 3 ladies and 1 “dude” come up on stage to show the Jai Ho dance that we all had learned. Oh my gosh, it was great! The “dude” was absolutely great and hilarious all at the same time, I wouldn’t be surprised if he had been a cheerleader at one time!

Then it was time for Oprah to come out. She looked so pretty. Her outfit was kind of a dark, navy/steel blue with a sparkling top. It was very cool to see how many people it takes to make sure that everything is just so-so, between the props on stage to making sure that Oprah is perfectly camera ready.

Hugh Jackman… Wow, he seemed so nice. Not a party hearty guy, but just someone that appreciated where and what he was getting to do. The audience (ladies especially) were whooping and hollering quite a bit.

Kate Winslet….I could listen to her talk all day, I love her accent and it made me think of Sense and Sensibilities.

Sean Penn…What I remember most about him was his hair! BIG hair…it must’ve given him another 4 or 5 inches of height! And the fact that he really looked like he wasn’t feeling all that great and all the whooping and hollering probably wasn’t doing him any favors. But he seemed like a nice guy.

Penelope Cruz…She is so cute! Such a tiny little thing! She held her Oscar all cuddled up against her the whole time like a teddy bear.

Danny Boyle…Dev Patel and Frieda Pinto…Danny Boyle of course was like a proud poppa. I loved Dev Patel! He had so much energy and was so excited! He jumped up and down and had the biggest grin on his face the whole time. Frieda Pinto was beautiful and it was fun listening to her talk about the show and her co-star.

The Jai Ho singers, dancers and musicians…When they came out it was hard to stay seated! That’s a great song that had everyone pumped up.

Then it was over. It went so quick. Everything was coordinated to precision. To think of how tired the Oprah crew must be after probably being up all night to edit the film clips from the Oscars to show during the segments of the Oprah Show. Wow. Everyone worked hard but what a nice show they produced! Good job to them!

About Moqqi

I was born in the Midwest but I have actually lived more of my life on the West Coast. I am looking forward to that day when I once again am living in the Midwest. Hopefully that will mean that I am retired and getting to live life at a bit of a slower pace! I've been married to the same guy for 36 years! We met when he was working for a semi-pro hockey team and I was selling tickets to the games. He also played hockey at an amateur and college level and I think I fell instantly in love when we went ice skating together and he saved me from crashing when someone behind me fell (I was skating backwards, he was skating forward, so we were facing each other.) and he reached out with his big, strong arms and grabbed both of my upper arms and just stopped me dead in my tracks to make sure I didn't fall over the person. My Hercules! I have two children, a son and a daughter. My son is an Registered Nurse and works in an ICU. He is married to a wonderful girl that I couldn't have hand picked better. They have produced the absolute, most cute and adorable Grandchildren that anyone could ask for! My daughter is now a Fifth Grade teacher. She has a joy and passion for teaching and loving her students that is not seen in many teachers these days. She truly found her calling. I have this blog because I thought it would be nice to have a place that I could share what is going on in our lives and I also just love to tell stories. I'm not a writer per se, but I do love a good story. Even if it's just a short little quip!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Oprah’s After the Academy Awards Party Show

  1. gracy says:

    oh wow! looks like it was day to be remembered! hey, im a fan of charice and im just wondering wat was the other song she sang aside from Fingerprint ? coud you tell me pls? i wud really really appreciate it.

    • tmurphathome says:

      I wish I could remember the song. All I remember was David Frost saying that it was a new song, still not quite finished and that she was going to sing it to us and try it out. It was a much more current song, age appropriate for Charice, with a much more rock and roll type beat.

  2. gracy says:

    hi thanks for ur response. the upbeat song is titled Fingerprint. did she sang When you believe also? i heard that from somewhere. just wanna confirm.

    • tmurphathome says:

      Yes, those were the songs! You would’ve have enjoyed her performance I’m sure. It was neat because it was in a casual atmosphere since it was prior to the actual taping of the Oprah show.

  3. gracy says:

    oh man! how lucky you are. i have to wait until May(david foster and friends in vegas) to hear Charice sing live. thank you for your time and for including charice in your Blog.

  4. yobhtron says:

    Nice blog. I enjoyed reading it, thank you. You are so lucky to see Charice perform live and I envy you for that. 🙂 She is really an amazing young girl endowed with angelic voice.

  5. JaYrOx says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us about the Oprah show. I’m so envious!!! Just like gracy, who previously commented on this thread, I too won’t see Charice live until May in Las Vegas. But I’m pretty sure it’s gonna be worth the wait.
    Well, thanks again.

  6. sunflowersarles says:

    I love Charice. Thanks for writing about her performance. Did you take any pictures/videos of her performing? Thanks.

    • tmurphathome says:

      Since we attended this event that was for a taping of the Oprah Winfrey show one of the rules is that you can not take any pictures or video. So sadly, no, I don’t have any pictures or video of Charice.

  7. texan says:

    please visit Charicemania.com chat we want to learn more about her performance first hand thanks.. pls pls..

  8. Mike says:

    First blog I read after wakeup from sleep today!

    ________________________
    Proven! How to cure Acne Naturally.Email to mike.wilson80@ymail.com for more information.

    • michelep says:

      Just got confirmation of 2010 Oprah Oscar tickets. What determines where you sit? Any suggestions? Also, you mention that you had to park at Hollywood Bowl and then be bussed over? Was that mandatory?

      • Moqqi says:

        I believe that the “reserved” seating towards the front is for those that are more closely connected to Oprah Winfrey or her staff. The general seating where we sat on the first floor was for those that had connections to lower level staffing at Harpo and I believe the upper levels of seating were people that were from a company that fills audiences. There really isn’t a bad seat in the house. As far as the parking…it was a great system. If you can park at the Hollywood Bowl and then buss over it really worked out great, no stressing trying to find a place and it was all extremely organized and the air of excitement couldn’t be beat! Enjoy yourself, it’s a great experience!

  9. michelep says:

    Hi,
    I just got some additional instructions about the Oprah 2010 Oscar show and it sounds like they are using the same system as last year. It is mandatory to check in at the Hollywood Bowl and be bussed over to the Kodak Theater. I guess I am wondering if people stampede into the theater when allowed to go inside and actually be seated. (I envision adults fighting over seats??)
    I have a new ankle injury and I am debating on whether or not to even go to LA now for the taping. It is a real bummer!
    Thanks for your help.

    • Moqqi says:

      Hi, if you have a bad ankle the only part that will be challenging is the standing in line waiting for the check-in/bus and then once you arrive at the Kodak Theater there is more waiting in the lobby area prior to being allowed into the theater and there really isn’t any place to sit in the lobby. You are seated in the theater depending on what type ticket you have. Mine was a general seating but on the first floor. It wasn’t too crazy, people were all rather courteous…not a rush. Another note…you are not allowed to bring any kind of food or drink into the theater so you may want to make sure and be well hydrated before you get on the bus. I think that if you can, you ought to go, it really was a neat experience…especially if there is a favorite actor or actress that you want to see and they win!

  10. Tammy says:

    I’m excited about being chosen for the 2010 Oprah Oscar taping! My dilemma is that I don’t know what to wear to the show. Do have any suggestions? What did you wear and what did most of the audience wear to the show?

  11. Heidi Sweet says:

    Great post. It is fun to read about your experience. I, too, just got tickets for this year’s show and I know it is superficial but I am wondering what to wear? Were people in the audience in dressier clothes since it is the “Oscar” show or were they in the same types of clothes they wear to her tapings in Chicago? I would love any tips you could share.

    • Moqqi says:

      How fun for you guys to be able to attend this taping! Last year Oprah wore a beautiful two piece dark blue outfit. The skirt was flowing and if I remember correctly it was sparkly. Most of the audience members were dressed for a fancy evening out…but not a lot of sequins or glitter. Maybe a bit of sparkle here and there. I noticed that the audience members that had traveled from back east seemed to be dressed fancier than those who seemed to be from the West Coast but then again even the West Coast crowd tended toward nice. I did see hats…lots of pretty hats on some of the women. Basic black slacks or skirts would be great accompanied by a splash of pretty color on the top. If you plan on trying to locate yourself in the audience when the show airs, wearing a distinctive color that you can pick out would be a good idea. Everyone’s tastes are so different but if you stick with tasteful elegance I think you’ll be safe! The one important thing that I can suggest though is comfortable shoes! There is a bit of standing when you are checking in and then waiting in line for the bus. Also once you arrive at the Kodak Theater you will also be waiting for a bit in the lobby area until they are ready to seat the audience. Also…since no food or drinks are allowed inside the theater, a roll of Life Savers or breath mints might help if you get a little thirsty and aren’t able to make it to one of the water fountains. Hope this helps you guys. Have fun, it’s a great experience!

  12. michelep says:

    I have decided to go whether or not I am sporting crutches. I contacted the Oprah Show and they said they will accommodate “handicapped”. Although, I did explain that I was only on crutches. I just suffered a severe sprain and the doctor said it could be 3 months before complete healing. Ouch!
    I didn’t realize that people dressed up for the show. I know the extra info that was sent from Oprah said it was “oscar attire” but I have watched the show before and you can only see what shirts people are wearing from the audience….And, if I remember correctly, although Oprah is dressed well, some of the guests actually weren’t.
    Thank you for all your tips. Originally, my sister and I were going ( I hadn’t even told my husband that I had tried to get the tickets) , but now my husband has decided that he wants to come, so I had to change my guest name. We are traveling from SC, so I had to buy airline tickets so I had to make a decision. My husband wants to go so badly that he said he would push me around in a wheelchair if he had to! How funny…Anything you have to suggest, I will greatly be appreciated to you !

    • Moqqi says:

      You are right…you can really only see the audience members from the waist up (with the exception of the first row and anyone sitting on the aisles). That is why a really pretty top with a simple black skirt or slacks works great. Comfort along with dressy. 🙂 As far as the guests on the show…most were partying hard the night before in celebration! It is interesting to see them in person, you can tell who parties a little harder than others. Very entertaining.

      Sad for your sister that she can’t make it but how fun for you to go on such a fun “date” with your husband! The Los Angeles/Hollywood greater area is a fun destination for fun with your sweetheart!

      One thing also to consider is the weather here. Even though the weather tends to be on the milder side, we do get chilly in the evenings and we have seen a bit of rain. (Something we desperately need) It would be good to pack in the event of inclement weather. Layers work nice. The mornings may be chilly and then it warms up nicely for the day and then will turn off cooler again in the evenings. For example the next few days show temperatures ranging from the high 40’s in the evenings to low 70’s during the day with a few scattered showers here and there. Even if it rains a little that can be a blessing. The day after a rain the skies are so beautiful and the air is so fresh and crisp. The views of the surrounding snow capped mountains are such a treat.

      I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures!

  13. Vicki Stempky says:

    I also enjoyed reading your blog as I was searching the internet for more information on going to Oprah’s After Oscar Show. I am very excited to have tickets this year and am flying in from Michigan. So I was wondering where is the best area to stay since I quess we have to go to the Hollywood Bowl to be bussed over so staying near the Kodak Theater may not be the best choice. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas that would work best or may have worked for you in the past. Thanks in advance.

  14. michelep says:

    Hi Moqqi!
    My husband and I are leaving tomorrow for LA! I’m in a boot now for my foot so I don’t have to sport the crutches….Thanks for all your information and I’ll let you know how everything goes!
    -Michele

  15. Kerah says:

    I really appreciate the information as I too am going on Monday to see her show. Did she provide any cool gifts?

    • Moqqi says:

      Last year at the show there were no free gifts handed out to the audience…but who knows…since it is her final year maybe she will do something special. Hope so for you that are attending. Have a great time!

  16. Bobbi says:

    My best friend and I just found out last night that we have tickets to the Oprah’s after the Oscars show and we are beyond excited. I’m so glad I found your blog as we need some advise on where to stay. We are coming for the entire weekend, meeting up with 2 other girls and really not sure of the best place to stay. Any comments from anyone????

Leave a Reply

